1 Chronicles 17:10-14 NIVUK
10 …“I declare to you that the Lord will build a house for you: 11 when your days are over and you go to be with your ancestors, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, one of your own sons, and I will establish his kingdom. 12 He is the one who will build a house for me, and I will establish his throne for ever. 13 I will be his father, and he will be my son. I will never take my love away from him, as I took it away from your predecessor. 14 I will set him over my house and my kingdom for ever; his throne will be established for ever.”’

Secure in his capital Jerusalem and housed in a lavish palace, David realises that God’s Ark is still housed in a tent (the tabernacle), and seeks to build a more fitting home for him. God, however, has other plans. As David has been a man of war it will for his son to make a new home for him. This is just what Solomon goes on to do, erecting a most fantastic edifice to surround the Ark, beautifully and expensively created. This passage doesn’t just look to Solomon’s construction however, it also looks beyond him to another ancestor, Jesus, who truly reigns over his Kingdom forever and has established the church as a living temple for the Holy Spirit. You could say this passage points towards you as that future home for God’s Presence amongst people!

Father, help me to be a beautiful building fitting for your Spirit to dwell in – beauty coming not from outward appearance, but through faith, hope and love.

