Proverbs 17:24 NIVUK
24 A discerning person keeps wisdom in view,
    but a fool’s eyes wander to the ends of the earth.

There’s a road in London I love to visit, and also hate, Denmark Street. This is a short narrow street just off Oxford Street which is made up of guitar shops, one after the other. So many wonderful toys to look at and lust after! Fortunately, most of them are beyond my budget and so although I would love to do more than just window shopping, the temptation is fruitless. There are so many things that catch the eye in this world, the latest gadget, a pretty face, popular ideas, the latest craze or fashion, the lure of a quick buck, or ways to live and relate. Today’s Proverb warns us to be discerning and not let our eyes be caught by everything that glitters, but to be wise as to what is good not just attractive, and right rather than just popular.

Father, help me to see as you see in all my dealings today.

