Acts 13:21‭-‬22 NIVUK

Then the people asked for a king, and he gave them Saul son of Kish, of the tribe of Benjamin, who ruled for forty years. After removing Saul, he made David their king. God testified concerning him: “I have found David son of Jesse, a man after my own heart; he will do everything I want him to do.”

This is an extract from Paul’s speech to the Gentiles at Antioch where he looks back over God’s feelings with the Jews before opening up his promises to the Gentiles. In it is this simple yet profound description of David, a man after God’s heart who will do everything he wants him to. Too much for you and me? Yes, and it was too much for David too – he failed God in dramatic ways sometimes. But it’s not perfection that God demands, but inclination. Is our inclination towards obedience, or are we biased towards our own desires?

Spirit, help me to be biased towards obedience.

Bible in a Year Readings: Psalm 75:1-10; Acts 13:13-41; 1 Kings 6:1-7:22

