John 15:12-15 NIVUK
12 My command is this: love each other as I have loved you. 13 Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. 14 You are my friends if you do what I command. 15 I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.

This is a high definition of friendship. Friendship as Jesus sees it is based on the love that puts the other first, even to the point of death; this is no here-today-gone-tomorrow friendship. I don’t know about you, but this challenges how I think about my friendships – do I see them as something I invest in only when it suits me, or I have time, or I get something out of them? Or am I prepared to show my friends that they are important and valued? The other side of this definition is that this high view of friendship is how Jesus sees us, giving his all for us.

Father, help me to show my friends how important they are in how I treat them today.

