John 14:15-17 NIVUK
15 ‘If you love me, keep my commands. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you for ever – 17 the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you.

On Sunday morning we thought about how the Third Servant Song from Isaiah says that God was the Servant’s Defence Lawyer. Because the Servant was working for God, God would back him. Here Jesus says the same for us, if we follow him, he will speak up for us as our Advocate, as will the Spirit whom he has sent to live in us. What an amazing thought that God himself is on our side!

Open my awareness to your Spirit Lord, that I might follow you better and be alert to his guidance and support.

