John 6:28-29 NIVUK
28 Then they asked him, ‘What must we do to do the works God requires?’
29 Jesus answered, ‘The work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent.’

What an important question, what is it that God wants from us?
Jesus’ answer appears simple, to believe in the one he sent, in other words Jesus.
But there is more to it than meets the eye – at least in our English translations. I’m led to believe that the Greek word translated ‘believe’ here doesn’t mean simply passively accepting what he says as true. Instead it is an active word, ‘believe into’ the one he sent – accepts what he says as true and embrace it, live it out, base who you are on it. Do we make what Jesus says the foundation of who we are? That’s what God wants of us.

Spirit, help me to take Jesus’ words from the page into my mind and heart that they might shape who I am. Help me build my life on him.

