I read a fantastic story in the Huffington Post today. Staff in a Vancouver sandwich shop heard that the movie star Liam Neeson was filming in the area and swapped the usual adverts on their sandwich board for something a little more targeted. Chalked on the blackboard was the simple message, ‘Liam Neeson eats here for free’. No doubt it was just a bit of fun, but imagine their surprise when Neeson actually turned up with some of his film crew! Afterwards, they not only posted the inevitable selfie with the actor on their Instagram page, but they also devoted a sandwich to him ‘which is filled with “lots of beef, a one-two-punch of bacon and hickory sticks, and spice that’ll get revenge on you tomorrow”.’

Reading this got me wondering which actor would you like to turn up for dinner at your place? Earlier in the year we thought for a moment that we might have Jo Brand join us when she was filming ‘Damned’ at the bottom of the road, and the film company asked if they could use the church as a green room. The church was being used and so we offered the Manse instead. In the end she didn’t visit us, but the ‘her’ children did instead (including the boy who played ‘Tiny Tim’ in the BBCs ‘Dickensian’). We got closer with the cyclists Laura and Emma Trott who both waved and smiled when seeing our banners for them as they cycled past on the Woman’s Tour of Britain a few years ago, a scene that was caught on TV. They didn’t stop for a cuppa though…

Personally, I’d like to have David Attenborough or Brian Cox visit as I’d love to listen to them talk science, and I’m sure they’d both have plenty of stories to share, especially Attenborough after his long career. Michael Palin would be another obvious choice for me, I would love to talk about the Python’s and his many travels making his subsequent documentaries. I don’t think putting a sign at the top of Slipe Lane will do the job though.

Having thought about who I’d invite, the irony of course is that the biggest star has put out a sign for us. He has form of course, he called out to the maligned Zacchaeus lurking up in a tree that he was coming to his house for dinner. In Revelation 3:20 he announces, ‘Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me’ and in Matthew 26:29, ‘I tell you, I will not drink from this fruit of the vine from now on until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father’s kingdom.’’ Who would imagine that God would put out a sandwich board with our name on!

Church Newsletter Article 07.05.17

