Luke 24:36-39 NIVUK
36 While they were still talking about this, Jesus himself stood among them and said to them, ‘Peace be with you.’
37 They were startled and frightened, thinking they saw a ghost. 38 He said to them, ‘Why are you troubled, and why do doubts rise in your minds? 39 Look at my hands and my feet. It is I myself! Touch me and see; a ghost does not have flesh and bones, as you see I have.’

Sometimes if you listen to Christians talking about Jesus, it’s almost as if he is a theoretical concept or just a story. In this post-resurrection story, the disciples get the shock of their lives when Jesus appears to them. He is not dead, nor is he an illusion or ghost, he is flesh and blood and standing in their midst. I wonder how our attitudes towards him and our faith would change if he were to turn up unannounced in our living rooms one evening or in the Community Centre one Sunday morning? I suspect the impact would be dramatic! And yet, is this not what has happened? The Spirit has been given to be Jesus for us today, living with us wherever and whenever we are.

In your mercy, Jesus, give me a glimpse of your Spirit within me.

