Psalm 51:10-12 NIVUK
10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
    and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
11 Do not cast me from your presence
    or take your Holy Spirit from me.
12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
    and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

One of my favourite scenes from Spamalot, the stage show based on Monty Python’s Knights of the Holy Grail, is when King Arthur sings ‘I’m all alone’ totally overlooking his loyal servant, Patsy, who is continually at his side. The expressions on Patsy’s face are comically wonderful. Time and time again the writers of the Bible make it clear that the most precious thing is knowing the presence of God. The extraordinary promise of Jesus is that God has put his Holy Spirit in us, God is literally in us, living our lives with us. We are never alone.

Lord, let me never join Arthur in singing I’m all alone, rather help to to know the encouragement and inspiration of your Spirit.

