Psalm 34:4-7
4 I sought the Lord, and he answered me;
    he delivered me from all my fears.
5 Those who look to him are radiant;
    their faces are never covered with shame.
6 This poor man called, and the Lord heard him;
    he saved him out of all his troubles.
7 The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him,
    and he delivers them.

I hadn’t really twigged before reading Exodus as part of the Bible in a Year Challenge, how often the Bible talks about those who see God having radiant faces. Moses speaks with God and his face shines (Exodus 34). Here, the Psalmist claims that all who look to God are radiant. Isaiah promises that God will one day shine on his people and they will be radiant (Isaiah 60). Jesus is transfigured, and his face shines (Matthew 17). Finally Paul suggests the same is true of us as the Spirit works in our lives (2 Corinthians 3) and that Christ’s aim is to make the church radiant (Ephesians 5, a chapter full of light)

Lord, may I see your face and reflect your glory and bring light to your world.

