Mark 8:1-3
1 During those days another large crowd gathered. Since they had nothing to eat, Jesus called his disciples to him and said, 2 ‘I have compassion for these people; they have already been with me three days and have nothing to eat. 3 If I send them home hungry, they will collapse on the way, because some of them have come a long distance.’

Again, this incident tells us something about the compassion of Jesus. He’s not thinking of his own status or how well his impromptu speeches have gone, but for the well-being of the people. Reading it today another factor in this story struck me, however, that the crowd had been with him already for three days! Now that’s commitment, especially if you know you have no food or have run out. Sometimes we grumble if the service runs over an hour and a bit…

Jesus, fuel my commitment so I hunger after you.

