Psalm 18:6-8
6 In my distress I called to the Lord;
    I cried to my God for help.
From his temple he heard my voice;
    my cry came before him, into his ears.
7 The earth trembled and quaked,
    and the foundations of the mountains shook;
    they trembled because he was angry.
8 Smoke rose from his nostrils;
    consuming fire came from his mouth,
    burning coals blazed out of it.

It’s a pattern that we see time and time again in the Bible, God’s People call out in their distress and God responds in power. We’ve seen it in Exodus in the evening as God heard his people’s cries under slavery in Egypt and rescued them, and we heard it in 1 Corinthians 15 this weekend where Jesus destroys our enemy, death, on the Cross and in his resurrection. He is an angry saviour, responding to pain and injustice in earth-shattering power.

Lord, we cry out to you about the brokenness of the world. In your mercy act to bring an end to its suffering! May we also be passionate about the world, may we feel anger at injustice and respond with urgent love.

