Psalm 17:13-15
13 Rise up, Lord, confront them, bring them down;
    with your sword rescue me from the wicked.
14 By your hand save me from such people, Lord,
    from those of this world whose reward is in this life.
May what you have stored up for the wicked fill their bellies;
    may their children gorge themselves on it,
    and may there be leftovers for their little ones.
15 As for me, I shall be vindicated and shall see your face;
    when I awake, I shall be satisfied with seeing your likeness.

I admire the honesty of this psalm. The author is brutally honest with what he’s feeling, and expresses his desire for justice and revenge to God. It is uncomfortable reading, perhaps, but I suspect we have all felt something similar. Is it not better, to share these thoughts with God as an act of worship rather than suppress them or act on them ourselves? Besides, God already knows exactly what we think, to pretend otherwise is to be dishonest.

Lord, you have revealed yourself to us. Help us to be honest in our response as we share ourselves with you.

