Psalm 16:9-11
9 Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
    my body also will rest secure,
10 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead,
    nor will you let your faithful one see decay.
11 You make known to me the path of life;
    you will fill me with joy in your presence,
    with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

Yesterday we read of Jacob’s death. The same chapter tells of Joseph’s death too. This Psalm could have been theirs, they believed that they and their families were secure in God. It could also be Jesus’ Psalm whose body was not left in death, but raised to new life because of his faithfulness. It is also ours. We can have faith that even in death God doesn’t abandon us, but through Christ we too will be raised to eternal life.

Thank you for the joy you have given us in this life and in the promise of the next!

