Matthew 10:37-39
37 ‘Anyone who loves their father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves their son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. 38 Whoever does not take up their cross and follow me is not worthy of me. 39 Whoever finds their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life for my sake will find it.

Hard hitting words, these. Although Jesus is the king of love and grace, he also comes with high expectations and demands. Following him comes with a price. He wants us to live completely for him and the Kingdom, to give it all. Paradoxically, though, through being wholehearted and giving our all, he promises that we will find our lives. Only through sacrifice and submission can we be fulfilled.

Father, this seems to much for us. I’m not sure I can give over my whole life to you. Help me through your Spirit to find the way.

