Two short verses – Proverbs 3:5-6
5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways acknowledge to him,
    and he will make your paths straight.

Tuesday
Today – Lean not on your own understanding.

I am a lover of Psalm 131 – check it out. In my version, there is the verse – I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvellous for me.
There is a picture again of relaxing and contentment. In fact this is the opposite of what the world demands of us.
I do not believe though that it means we do nothing. It refers again to the trust we have in God, and by prayer and reflection we will find what is required of us. On the basic level it will mean that we continue to live our lives in the knowledge that there is God in control.

Take time today to ‘lean on God.’ Just tell Him that you trust Him. I am aware for some, including me, that that’s tough, but try it. And remember leaning might mean that you may lose your balance and really depend on him!

Prayer: If I lean on you, keep me from falling. Thank you.

