Psalm 42:5 NIVUK
Why, my soul, are you downcast?
    Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
    for I will yet praise him,
    my Saviour and my God.

I love the honesty of the Psalms. They paint a picture of God’s people in their high points with great laughter and song and rejoicing, but also at their lowest points, expressing their sense of abandonment, their despair, and their anger. It is no wonder that after all these years we are still drawn to them as although the world has changed so much, people are still people and emotions are still emotions. What they felt, we feel. Here the Psalmist is honest about his ‘spiritual depression’, something we all feel but maybe are shy to express, that sense that God is far away, or that sense of dryness. I draw comfort from that. I am also challenged by the Psalmist’s faith. In these difficult moments they find courage from their and their people’s experiences of God. God has always been faithful and has shown himself time and time again to be their Saviour, therefore, despite their feelings they press on, trusting that he will ultimately show himself in the same way again.

Lord, I place my hope in you for today.

