One of the highlights of my job is the joy of taking assemblies at Wormley Primary School, something I’ve been doing on a regular basis ever since we moved here in 1999. I love children’s work and don’t get as much time to do it as I’d like to – I hope the adults in my congregation will forgive me for saying children can be a whole lot more fun than adults…

I had a real treat today as I was asked to take an assembly at Hunsdon Primary School where a friend of mine is the Head. I was a little nervous, it has been a long time since I have been involved in another school and I know just what I can and cannot get away with at Wormley. I needn’t have worried. The kids were wonderful and I was made most welcome by everyone.

What did I talk about? Their current theme is ‘Going for Goals’ – that was all the encouragement I needed to talk about my favourite topic of conversation at the moment, the Tour de France! There was of course a Christian application too, the call for us to:

‘…run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith…’ (Hebrews 12:1-2)

If we fix our eyes on him, then just like Mark Renshaw (Mark Cavendish’s lead out man) delivers Cav to the finishing line where he so often wins the sprint, so too will Jesus deliver us to the finish line of the race of life, safely, having lived out our lives well.


From the Pastor’s Pen: blog posts made by our minister. These don’t necessarily represent the official view of Wormley Free Church

