Revelation 18:4-5 (UKNIV)
Then I heard another voice from heaven say:
‘“Come out of her, my people,”
    so that you will not share in her sins,
    so that you will not receive any of her plagues;
for her sins are piled up to heaven,
    and God has remembered her crimes.’

Seven angels pour plagues upon the world reminiscent of those poured upon Egypt in the book of Exodus when Pharaoh treated the Israelites as slaves. Those plagues were judgements against him designed to persuade him to let God’s people go. Here the plagues are judgements not against Pharaoh but ‘Babylon the Whore’, a monstrous city/woman seducing God’s people, luring them away from God. A heavenly voice warns God’s people to come out to escape her temptations and thus avoid her fate.

Lord, warn me of the temptations I face today so that I can stand firm in you. Help me to influence the world for you, not be influenced by it and seduced away from you.

Today’s New Testament in a Season readings: Revelation 16-18

