Hebrews 12:1-3 (NIV)
[1] Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, [2] fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. [3] Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

When we look back at the men and women who have made great journeys of faith it should encourage us to run our race with joy and vigour and here is the secret – fix your eyes, mind and heart on Jesus and you will run true and with perseverance to the end. And what an end it will be – to reach the place that Jesus “has prepared for us.” Don’t give up or be distracted – think of Jesus!

Jesus, be the centre
Be my source, be my light
Jesus
Jesus, be the centre
Be my hope, be my song
Jesus

Be the fire in my heart
Be the wind in these sails
Be the reason that I live
Jesus, Jesus

Today’s New Testament in a Season readings: Hebrews 11-13

