1 Timothy 4:7-8 (NIVUK)
7 Have nothing to do with godless myths and old wives’ tales; rather, train yourself to be godly. 8 For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.

I know that  when I get in a regular pattern of going out on my bike I feel so much better for it. I am more alert, stronger, have more energy, and find that I am more creative and thoughtful. We all know the importance of exercise. As important as this is, however, and something that as our bodies are the home of the Holy Spirit Paul would surely encourage, he encourages training in character and lifestyle even more. If we can cultivate good character and deeds, then we benefit now, as do those around us. We also benefit in the future as we work towards being the people we will be when God’s Kingdom comes in all its fullness. 
Lord, help me exercise today, both physically and in character and lifestyle, for personal benefit and your glory.
Today’s New Testament in a Season readings: 1 Timothy 4-6
