2 Corinthians 6:2 (NIVUK)
…I tell you, now is the time of God’s favour, now is the day of salvation.

I am a great procrastinator, why do today what I could put off tomorrow! For me, the pressure of a deadline is very important. The good news is that God is not the same. Sometimes we look forward to ‘heaven’ and all that is to come, but Paul says we don’t need to wait, God isn’t, we can experience his salvation today, enjoying glimpses through the Spirit of his future Kingdom in our everyday lives. This immediacy also introduces a note of urgency into our lives; if God is at work amongst us now, what difference does this make to how I live today? If today is the day of salvation, how can I share this with others? Maybe these questions introduce the deadline I need to get to work myself!

Lord, help me to make the most of this wonderful day for you.

Today’s New Testament in a Season readings: 2 Corinthians 6-8

