Acts 24:14-15 (NIVUK)
’14 However, I admit that I worship the God of our ancestors as a follower of the Way, which they call a sect. I believe everything that is in accordance with the Law and that is written in the Prophets, 15 and I have the same hope in God as these men themselves have, that there will be a resurrection of both the righteous and the wicked.’

Arrested, Paul makes his case to the Roman Governor Felix. He describes himself as a Jew, a believer and follower of the Law and Prophets (the Old Testament) and with a hope in the resurrection of the dead – not surprisingly, having seen the risen Jesus! What caught my attention when reading these chapters was the way he referred to what we now call Christianity as ‘The Way’. I confess I prefer this. The term Christianity can sometimes sound like a club you belong to, or a philosophy you accept. To Paul it is way more than that. Following Jesus is something that actively changes the whole way you live, it is a way of life, and more than that, it is a way of life that is heading somewhere, the Kingdom of God, the restored creation under the reign of its God.

Lord, show me the Way by your Spirit, and I will follow.

Today’s New Testament in a Season readings: Acts 23-25

