Mark 6:50 NIV
‘…they all saw him and were terrified. Immediately he spoke to them and said, “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”’

This comes from the occasion when Jesus walked across the water to reach the disciples on their boat in the midst of a storm – in light of the miraculous nature of that event and with John the Baptist having just been murdered, it is no wonder that they are afraid, I know I would have been! Perhaps these are good words to hold on to though. There are times for all of us when to follow Christ, to do what the King calls us to do, is scary, taking us out of our comfort zones and possibly into trouble. That is when it is so good to know who it is that calls us there, God’s Son himself. Knowing it is him brings courage and security.

Spirit, help me to look up down, to fix my eyes on Jesus rather than on the stresses and challenges of life!

Today’s New Testament in a Season readings: Mark 6-8

