Psalm 8:5 MSG
Yet we’ve so narrowly missed being gods,
bright with Eden’s dawn light.
You put us in charge of your handcrafted world,
repeated to us your Genesis-charge,
Made us lords of sheep and cattle,
even animals out in the wild,
Birds flying and fish swimming,
whales singing in the ocean deeps.

I think twice before handing over my precious possessions to others to have a go with or borrow, and yet look at God handing over into our care this incredible world that he has personally fashioned and poured himself into. What an astonishing honour, that we so small and undeserving should be given such a second chance and such a status. What does this tell us about God?

Lord, filled with awe and wonder, let me care well for your world today. May I show myself worthy of the trust you’ve shown me with the help of your Spirit.

