Called

The fielder ran backwards to where the ball would fall. Another fielder joined in the chase. The first man heard the second call out, “My ball.” The fielder stopped, and the second man made the catch. The first man was listening and the second knew he was in a better place to make the catch. It was his and he wanted no mistakes.

Definition – cry out to someone to summon them or attract their attention.

Bible verse – 1 Samuel 3 v8 – A third time the Lord called, “Samuel!” And Samuel got up and went to Eli and said, “Here I am; you called me.” Then Eli realized that the Lord was calling the boy.

Thought: Samuel was called by God and he responded. The Bible says that if you call on God he will listen. This one works both ways, you can call God, but listen out, He can call you too. What would you do then?

Prayer: Lord, I know that you hear me when I call. Help me to hear you, through all my senses, let me look for your call everywhere. Amen.

