Matthew 16:24 NIV
Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.

Matthew 16:24 MSG
Then Jesus went to work on his disciples. “Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead. You’re not in the driver’s seat; I am. Don’t run from suffering; embrace it. Follow me and I’ll show you how. Self-help is no help at all. Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to finding yourself, your true self. What kind of deal is it to get everything you want but lose yourself? What could you ever trade your soul for?

Today maybe we hear who the new leader(s) of our country is. Sometimes the cynic in us wonders why our leaders want to lead. Are they in it serve their constituents or themselves? I would like to hope for most it’s the latter although sadly it would seem for some it is the former. This has led to many giving up on politics and seeing MPs and other leaders with suspicion. As we saw earlier, this is not God’s desire for our authorities. Jesus models what it’s all about perfectly, giving himself utterly for his people. Those he calls to follow him he asks not to put a cross on a piece of paper, but to take up their cross and follow him, to give up their lives for others as he has done for us. This paradoxically is the way to freedom and true life!

Jesus, help me to offer you my life as I seek to follow through imitating yours.

