Therefore, since we have these promises, dear friends, let us purify ourselves from everything that contaminates body and spirit, perfecting holiness out of reverence for God. (2 Corinthians 7:1 NIV)

Perfecting holiness…… Now there is an ambition! I suppose it is God’s work in us and perhaps we don’t notice it in ourselves? It is a command though – to purify ourselves….I guess that is a challenge to think about stuff that is not pure but tends to contaminate. It is important to balance abundant life with holiness I think, as otherwise holiness can sound like being a killjoy and pretty miserable and disapproving which sadly is an image the church has had too often. Jesus managed to avoid that though so perhaps we can to if we “perfect” holiness!

Lord, you have made me with all sorts of emotions and appetites – help me to fulfil your idea for me and those around me today.

