Exodus 3:13-14
13 Moses said to God, ‘Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, “The God of your fathers has sent me to you,” and they ask me, “What is his name?” Then what shall I tell them?’ 14 God said to Moses, ‘I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: “I am has sent me to you.”’

A hard name to wrap your head around! What does ‘I am who I am’ mean? Perhaps it might help to think about how you might describe yourself to someone who doesn’t know you. Often our descriptions are about the people that define us, our family, our friends and our colleagues. But God is not defined or changed by others in this way. He is totally self-sufficient and unchanging.

Some may say that Jesus never claims to be God, but they couldn’t be further from the truth, he makes this claim through almost everything he says and does. His ‘I Am’ sayings are amongst the most blatant. Every time he utters one of his ‘I Am’ sayings he is harking back to this original revelation by his Father from Exodus.

Isn’t this, though, the most amazing thing? The Father and the Son don’t need relationships with others outside the Trinity, and yet they want them and have chosen us to relate to! Take a moment to praise them for this choice and to embrace their offer.

