Today is the first day of Advent (although yesterday was the first Sunday of Advent – confusing or what!) Advent is a time of waiting for the coming of Jesus, and this week we’re going to reflect upon who he is using the ‘I am’ sayings from John.

John 6:35 NIV
Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.

In the past the men of the church occasionally went bowling followed by a Chinese. This was always enjoyed! Being an east as much as you want (can?!) we happily tucked in and had our fill. Strangely though I always found a little later I was surprisingly hungry again… With Jesus, however, we are nourished, filled and satisfied!

Lord, give me the strength and nourishment to serve you today!

