Reading: John 2:4-5 NIV
“Woman, why do you involve me?” Jesus replied. “My hour has not yet come.” [5]
His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”

Thought: Jesus’ response to his Mother’s request to help must have mystified her, what hour was he taking about? For us who know the rest of the story perhaps we can guess, maybe it’s public mission, his declaration that he his God’s chosen king, or his death and resurrection – of course all three are intertwined! John speaks to us as well through Mary’s instruction to the servants to do whatever he tells you because for us to be part of his work, his kingdom and resurrection this is exactly what we’re called to do.

Prayer: In all that I do, all that I say and all that I think today may your Spirit help me serve you.

