Reading: Genesis 17:18-19,21-22 NIV
[18] And Abraham said to God, “If only Ishmael might live under your blessing!” [19] Then God said, “Yes, but your wife Sarah will bear you a son, and you will call him Isaac. I will establish my covenant with him as an everlasting covenant for his descendants after him…………………………. [21] my covenant I will establish with Isaac, whom Sarah will bear to you by this time next year.” [22] When he had finished speaking with Abraham, God went up from him.

Thought: Abraham tried to think of a way that would be easy for the promise of God to be fulfilled – “here’s Ishmael Lord, maybe he can be your plan” but God has a purpose and plan even though Abraham struggles to see it! God wants to bless you today in his way and in his time. Trust him and look for his provision!

Prayer: Lord, open my eyes to you in the details of this day and help me to trust you even when I don’t see the way forward.

