Reading: Genesis 13:14-18 NIV
[14] The Lord said to Abram after Lot had parted from him, “Look around from where you are, to the north and south, to the east and west. [15] All the land that you see I will give to you and your offspring forever. [16] I will make your offspring like the dust of the earth, so that if anyone could count the dust, then your offspring could be counted. [17] Go, walk through the length and breadth of the land, for I am giving it to you.” [18] So Abram went to live near the great trees of Mamre at Hebron, where he pitched his tents. There he built an altar to the Lord.

Thought: Another amazing promise and another altar! Remember that Abram is a pretty old man with no children and so this means that Gods promise about his offspring is either wonderful or meaningless! Abrams example is still good – faced with a dilemma he takes his problem to God and keeps listening! Abraham is called “the friend of God” and perhaps this is why – he kept the communication lines open.

Prayer: Psalm 54:1-2 NIV
[1] Save me , O God, by your name; vindicate me by your might. [2] Hear my prayer, O God; listen to the words of my mouth.

